The Ocean Course Tournament History

Since 1976, Kiawah Island Golf Resort has operated as one of the country’s finest family vacation golf destinations. This 10-mile island is proud to have hosted many tournaments, including its first regional tournament in 1987 – the Carolina Amateur played at Turtle Point. In 1990, the resort was host to its first international event, the PGA Cup, which was also played at Turtle Point. Since then, it has gone on to host some of golf’s’ greatest tournaments, including the 1991 Ryder Cup Matches.

The 68th Senior PGA Championship

View: Photo Gallery May 2007 ~ Denis Watson of Zimbabwe took advantage of Eduardo Romero’s late mistakes to win the Senior PGA Championship. Watson won his first title in 23 years and became the first international player to win the Senior PGA since Gary Player in 1990. Romero of Argentina had handled The Ocean Course’s famed sand dunes and Atlantic gusts the best of anyone the first three days. He was still ahead by two shots after birdies on the 11th and 12th holes which pushed him to 10 under. Then, aiming at a pin tucked on the back left of the 14th green, his ball plugged while Watson stuck his shot to a dozen feet. Romero had to take an unplayable lie and double bogeyed while Watson drained his birdie putt for a three shot swing en route to an ultimate two-stroke victory.

2005 PGA Club Professional Championship

University of Illinois golf coach, Mike Small, charged from behind on Sunday to win the 38th PGA Club Professional Championship. Small concured the mighty Ocean Course with a 3-under par 69 to finish three shots ahead of runner-up Travis Long.

2003 World Cup

One of the four World Golf Championship events. South Africa duo Rory Sabbatini and Trevor Immelman held their nerve to win the WGC-World Cup at Kiawah Island. They began Sunday’s final round with a massive seven-shot lead and carded a one-over round of 73 to finish four clear on 275. The US team of Jim Furyk and Justin Leonard’s hopes collapsed on No. 13 when their tee shot found water.

Inaugural UBS Warburg Cup

A 40-year-old and above Ryder Cup-format tournament with the U.S. defeating the Rest of the World team. The teams featured captains Palmer and Players and included such stars as: O’Meara, Nicklaus, Irwin, Strange, Floyd, Nelson, Lehman, Watson, Calcavecchia, Torrance, Aoki, Nobilo, Faldo, Woosnam and Langer among others.

1997 World Cup of Golf

In balmy, calm conditions, many sub-par rounds were posted, demonstrating to critics that, with proper setup, the course wasn’t too difficult for a stroke-play tournament. The Irish team of Padraig Harrington and Paul McGinley won the team competition while Colin Montgomerie won the individual title.

Shell’s Wonderful World of Golf in 1996

Pitting Annika Sorenstam against Dotti Pepper – it is Shell’s WWG’s highest rated show that featured members of the LPGA.

1991 Ryder Cup

View: Photo Gallery Known as “The War by the Shore”. Called one of the top five tournaments of the decade by Golf World magazine and No. 18 of the most defining moments in the entire history of golf by Golf Digest magazine. For three days, the U.S. and European Ryder Cup Teams waged a memorable duel on the shores of Kiawah Island. After 28 matches and numerous lead changes, the moment to decide which team would secure the Ryder Cup trophy came down to a six-foot putt. Germany’s Bernhard Langer and America’s Hale Irwin approached the final green realizing the importance of their match. Irwin’s approach to the green flew wide right. He then chipped poorly and then putted to within a foot of the hole. Langer conceded Irwin’s bogey putt and followed by hitting his 45-foot birdie putt six-feet past the hole. Langer then struck his par putt that just missed the cup. The match was halved and America reclaimed the Ryder Cup that it has surrendered in 1985. Spain’s Seve Ballesteros and Jose Maria Olazabal continued their brillant pairing of the past with three victories and one halve. Fred Couples and Lanny Wadkins led their team with 3-1 records.