Kiawah Friendship Cup 2011

2011 friendship cup logoMarch 3-6, 2011

  • The Masters 5th year winner (1938) – Henry Picard at Augusta National Golf Club
  • US Open 5th year winner (1899) – Willie Smith at Baltimore Country Club (East Course)
  • The Open Championship 5th year winner (1864) – “Old” Tom Morris at Prestwick Golf Club
  • PGA Championship 5th year winner (1922) – Gene Sarazen at Oakmont Country Club
  • Friendship Cup 5th year winners (2011) – Claude Hoopes & Duncan Gratton – at The Ocean Course and Turtle Point Golf Club

From all across America they came. They came from 19 states as far away as Hawaii. One player even came from across the pond in the U.K. They came to vie for the coveted trophy, the fifth year of the famed 5th Major, The Kiawah Island Friendship Cup.

Thursday night’s opened with a different twist — dropping the formality of years past, contenders and their guests enjoyed a casual yet memorable welcome dinner at Mingo Point. This special venue, overlooking the Kiawah River, featured a beautiful sunset as a bagpiper call all to freshly roasted oysters, barbecue, a cigar roller, roaring bonfire and bluegrass music. The previous years’ champions were presented with their “Friendship Cup” jackets and Kiawah Island Golf Resort President, Roger Warren, extended a warm welcome.

Following dinner, participants proceeded to the hospitality room in The Sanctuary where the party progressed with music provided by DJ John Quincy. Full Swing Golf’s simulator was a crowd pleaser – especially with their newly offered Ocean Course program allowing contests that paralleled with the actual golf course they would tackle on Saturday. Raffle prizes, a putting contest, caricature artist, foosball, and darts added to the party atmosphere but the favorite addition by far for 2011 was the “Cornhole” bean bag toss tournament.

Friday morning, tee times began at 9:00 at Turtle Point. Footjoy sponsored closest to the pin prizes, Lee Distributors provided Miller and Yuengling product and Stoli kept players happy at the turn with a Bloody Mary bar. Before teeing off, memento photos were taken that were later presented in commemorative frames at the award’s dinner as a parting gift.

Friday night was the “Past Champions Dinner” in the private Ashley Cooper Suite in The Sanctuary. Winners of the first four Friendship Cups as well as the Pub Cup (tournament within a tournament for members of the media who participate in the event) enjoyed a three-course dinner with wine pairings provided by Ben Arnold Beverage Company and entertainment by flamenco and Latin guitarist Dori Chitayat. As in years past, the winners of the last years’ event stayed in one of the top suites at The Sanctuary for the duration of this year’s tournament. The rest of the participants enjoyed another night in the hospitality room with Stoli and Ben Arnold Beverage providing cocktails. More raffle prizes were awarded as the “Cornhole” tournament came to a dramatic finish with Kevin Brown and Andy Pirkle (2009 tournament winners) capturing the now coveted title.


Saturday participants took on The Ocean Course. Once again, Lee Distributors and Ben Arnold (Stoli) made sure participants didn’t go thirsty. Following the round, stories were swapped and cocktails enjoyed in The Ocean Course’s Ryder Cup Bar. That evening the awards reception and dinner honored champions Gratton and Hoopes but not before tournament chairman, Tom Bewley, chaired some archived footage of an international attempt to wrest the Friendship Cup to foreign shores!

Entertainment included music by jazz guitarist Nikolai Svishev and honary guest and speaker Lance Barrow of CBS Sports – producer of the upcoming 2012 PGA Championship. Prizes, including trips to some of America’s finest resorts were presented. Then, participants retired to one last night in the hospitality room to relish in their new friendships.

2011 Friendship Cup Winners

Place Team Net Total
1st Claude Hoopes & Duncan Gratton – Red Sox Warriers 138
2nd 2010 Defending Champions Randy Jones & Tom Crosby 139
3rd Richard Grindon & Hugh Morrison – The Ruff Divers 140
4th Andy Pirkle & Kevin Brown – Team Putz 140
5th Tim Moore & Andy Shelton – Team Tim Dandy 141
6th Paul Burke & Gary Rosenberg – Ball Busters 142
7th Tom Bewley & Gary Odachowski – B.S.C. 143
8th Marty Couch & Alan Skipper – Two Amigos 143
9th Clay Setzer & Bill Thomas – ITT 144
10th Jerry Czarnecki & Jerry Faulk – Men-In-Blue 144
Low Net Tim Moore – Received 5 nights at Turtle Bay Resort in Kahuka, Hawaii 149
Low Gross Hugh Morrison – Wins a fitted driver courtesy of Titleist 152

2011 Pub Cup Champions

  • The Rangers Team – Blair Leburn & Rick Hall ~ Golf Digest – Total 146

Putting Contest

  • Friday – Chris Patterson (2 night stay at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort)
  • Saturday – Marty Couch (2 night stay at The Hermitage Hotel)

Simulator Contest

  • Friday – Kevin Thompson (2 night stay at The Jefferson Hotel)
  • Saturday Blair Leburn (2 night stay & round for 2 at Ponte Vedra Inn and Club)

Cornhole Tournament Champions

  • Kevin Brown & Andy Pirkle (Each won a Titleist Driver)

Turtle Point Skins

  • #4 – Tom Crosby
  • #5 – Shannon Spillman
  • #7 – Greg Nylec
  • #8 – Bobby Andrews
  • #11 – Eddie Feigner
  • #13 – Alan Skipper
  • #14 – Brian Brown
  • #15 – Jonathan Lee
  • #17 – Tim Eachus

Last Place

  • Team Webb & Smails – Travus Pope & Damon Stafford
  • Special Trophy and very useful book – “How To Be Gentlemen”

Ocean Course Skins

  • #1 – Alan Skipper
  • #5 – Alan Skipper
  • #8 – David Haugh
  • #13 – Paul O’Neil
  • #14 – Richard Grindon
  • #16 – Hugh Morrison
  • #17 – Andy Pirkle

Closest to the Pin Turtle Point

  • #4 -Dave Bent – 9’6″
  • #7 – Scott Davis – 10’1″
  • #14 – John Haskins – 6’2″
  • #16 – Joe Schmidt – 23’3″

Each won a pair of Contour golf shoes courtesy of Footjoy

The Ocean Course

  • #5 – Reiny Llerena – 4’8″
  • #8 – Hugh Morrison – 4’9″
  • #14 – Joe Terzi – 5’3″
  • #17 – Clyde Hiers – 10’1′

Each wins a Pete Dye autographed, framed print of that hole.

Longest Drive Friday

  • #10 at Turtle Point – Scott Davis


  • #11 at Turtle Point – Scott Davis

Longest Putt Friday

  • #18 at Turtle Point – John Swain – 32’3″


  • #9 at The Ocean Course – Ed Hemschot – 24’1″

View 2010 Friendship Cup